2007 Hyosung Aquila GV650 from Canada

Summary:

Best buy for money and reliability - great looks

Faults:

Vacuum fuel valve replaced (warranty).

Battery replaced (warranty).

Speed computer replaced (warranty).

General Comments:

For the size fast.

Excellent brakes.

Super maneuverability.

Excellent centre of gravity.

Best motorcycle I've had in 43 years, and this is number 18.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2009

2007 Hyosung Aquila GV650 from United Kingdom

Summary:

A fast comfortable cruiser that will turn heads

Faults:

Gear lever linkage separated when the nut fell off at around 7000 miles.

General Comments:

Bearing in mind that it is a cruiser, the handling is exceptionally good, although of course the pegs will always hit the deck on tight/fast corners.

It has a comfortable saddle, although the lack of any adjustment on the handle bars is a drawback for me as I am quite short (5' 7"). This makes it a little difficult to perform slow tight turns as one or other arm is at full stretch. Two hours in the saddle (on motorways) gives about 120 miles, which seems fine for stops.

Pillion seat requires an additional cushion I am told, but once fitted all is fine.

Brakes are very good, as are the factory fitted tyres (Bridgestone BattleAxe).

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2009

2007 Hyosung Aquila GV650 from Canada

Summary:

Love the ride, but hate the service support

Faults:

Brakes are completely shot after only 3800 km total (bought new).

General Comments:

After only 3800 total km and only 2000 km after the initial 1600 (first service) km inspection, the brake pads are completely gone and the rotor disc so damaged it needs replacing. The dealer was unsympathetic and declared I was riding the brakes. I know I don't, and was stunned at how quickly and badly the brakes wore through. I cruise and don't race, and have been extremely careful with the ride.

I love the bike and the ride, but if I have to replace brakes after every 3800 km, I am ditching it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2009

2007 Hyosung Aquila GV650 from Australia

Summary:

Great when it goes, easy to ride

Faults:

Will not start (7 times now and the dealer cannot fix it).

Left indicator not working.

Some kind of acid spilled on to swing arm and corroded the exhaust pipe.

General Comments:

Great bike when it is going, but unreliable. Unfortunately it is all I can afford at the moment.

Very poor back-up service from the dealers.

Parts hard to come by.

Accessories very expensive ($A550.00) for a rack and rear seat rest.

Service frequency is too great.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st November, 2008

18th Mar 2010, 01:19

Can't complain about my 650 Aquila 2007 model. Great power for me, handles rough bitumen surfaces and dirt surface easily. Comments on the bling (shine and chrome), style and general appearance. For the money it's unreal. Can't wait for a 700efi or similar to come to Australia. I give mine a hard time riding in Western Queensland, and it can hack it.

2007 Hyosung Aquila GV650 from United States of America

Summary:

A bargain bike that's not 'cheap'

Faults:

Right after I purchased it, the clutch safety switch became disconnected after washing it. That was an easy fix, I simply put dielectric grease on the connection and put it back together. It's not acted up again.

The chrome cover over the swingarm pivot has fallen off twice, and needed replacement.

General Comments:

The GV650 is a unique cruiser that gets attention wherever I take it. Nobody believes it was only a little over $6000 and came with a two year warranty!

It handles like a sportbike, and outruns all but the large Japanese cruisers.

My only complaint is that the footpegs are too far forward even in the closer of the two positions. And I wear a 34" inseam! I guess I'm used to riding sportbikes.

The quality and fit & finish is as good as any of the Japanese companies.

With belt drive, digital dash, water cooling, LED taillight, inverted fork, disk brakes all around, and great acceleration, I would recommend the GV to anyone wanting a quality cruiser that's not overpriced and not based on technology outdated forty years ago!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2008

10th Nov 2009, 21:49

This motorcycle is now sitting unusable in the garage. It stripped the countershaft and pulley when it was 1-1/2 months out of warranty. I only have a little over 4,000 miles on it now. NOT HAPPY WITH BIKE, LOCAL DEALERS OR HYOSUNG AT THIS POINT!

11th Oct 2014, 23:54

My 2007 GV650 had the same issue of stripping the splines in the driveshaft. I repaired it. It was a PITA. Cost more than $300. Now considering doing a chain conversion since the belt has a cut in it.

I replaced the charging system with 250 Kawi and an electronic regulator. I love this bike, and maybe I finally have all the bugs out.

I have more than 15k miles on it; drove across the USA from AZ to NC.

Most all motorcycles need a wrench on them if used constantly. I am shade tree mechanic with cars, so if equipped with a shop manual, I ain't scared to try to fix a bike. An oil change and valve adjustment is not hard. This bike absolutely does need to have nuts and bolts tightened often. It is greedy for attention, and that is the price for 71 HP from 650 cc instead of only 42 or so from the Japanese.