Hyosung Aquila GV650 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2007 Hyosung Aquila GV650 from Canada

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance3800 kilometres
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS750L

Summary:

Love the ride, but hate the service support

Faults:

Brakes are completely shot after only 3800 km total (bought new).

General Comments:

After only 3800 total km and only 2000 km after the initial 1600 (first service) km inspection, the brake pads are completely gone and the rotor disc so damaged it needs replacing. The dealer was unsympathetic and declared I was riding the brakes. I know I don't, and was stunned at how quickly and badly the brakes wore through. I cruise and don't race, and have been extremely careful with the ride.

I love the bike and the ride, but if I have to replace brakes after every 3800 km, I am ditching it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2009

2007 Hyosung Aquila GV650 from Australia

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 4 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.9 / 10
Most recent distance3200 kilometres

Summary:

Great when it goes, easy to ride

Faults:

Will not start (7 times now and the dealer cannot fix it).

Left indicator not working.

Some kind of acid spilled on to swing arm and corroded the exhaust pipe.

General Comments:

Great bike when it is going, but unreliable. Unfortunately it is all I can afford at the moment.

Very poor back-up service from the dealers.

Parts hard to come by.

Accessories very expensive ($A550.00) for a rack and rear seat rest.

Service frequency is too great.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st November, 2008

18th Mar 2010, 01:19

Can't complain about my 650 Aquila 2007 model. Great power for me, handles rough bitumen surfaces and dirt surface easily. Comments on the bling (shine and chrome), style and general appearance. For the money it's unreal. Can't wait for a 700efi or similar to come to Australia. I give mine a hard time riding in Western Queensland, and it can hack it.

2007 Hyosung Aquila GV650 from United States of America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3950 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CBR900RR Fireblade

Summary:

A bargain bike that's not 'cheap'

Faults:

Right after I purchased it, the clutch safety switch became disconnected after washing it. That was an easy fix, I simply put dielectric grease on the connection and put it back together. It's not acted up again.

The chrome cover over the swingarm pivot has fallen off twice, and needed replacement.

General Comments:

The GV650 is a unique cruiser that gets attention wherever I take it. Nobody believes it was only a little over $6000 and came with a two year warranty!

It handles like a sportbike, and outruns all but the large Japanese cruisers.

My only complaint is that the footpegs are too far forward even in the closer of the two positions. And I wear a 34" inseam! I guess I'm used to riding sportbikes.

The quality and fit & finish is as good as any of the Japanese companies.

With belt drive, digital dash, water cooling, LED taillight, inverted fork, disk brakes all around, and great acceleration, I would recommend the GV to anyone wanting a quality cruiser that's not overpriced and not based on technology outdated forty years ago!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2008

10th Nov 2009, 21:49

This motorcycle is now sitting unusable in the garage. It stripped the countershaft and pulley when it was 1-1/2 months out of warranty. I only have a little over 4,000 miles on it now. NOT HAPPY WITH BIKE, LOCAL DEALERS OR HYOSUNG AT THIS POINT!

2007 Hyosung Aquila GV650 from Australia

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha Virago 250

Summary:

Fast bike (when it goes)

Faults:

Consistent hard starting when cold - yet to be resolved.

Pulse coil faulty at 8000kms.

Inlet manifold gasket blew at 8000kms.

Intermittent slow cranking - yet to be resolved.

Side-stand cutting off engine in transit - unresolved.

Carburettors go out of tune very easily.

General Comments:

This model accelerates fast and feels good to handle.

Reasonable fuel economy - I get 300kms per 12L on freeway.

Stunning appearance and is a head-turner.

However, it has been unreliable in the last 5 weeks, having been in the workshop 3 times for a week at a time for hard-starting problem. The problem is still under investigation/diagnosis and may require a technician from Hyosung to investigate. Fortunately however, this is all under warranty.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2008

2006 Hyosung Aquila GV650 from Spain

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleTriumph Sprint ST 955i

Summary:

Cheap and nasty, beware if you get a dog like mine

Faults:

Leaking fork seals.

Engine broke down, needed new piston, valves, cam chain and tensioners.

Brakes very poor.

Neutral light has stopped working.

General Comments:

To look at this bike, it looks good like a Harley.

The overall finish when you look close is cheap and plastic.

Paint flaking of imitation chrome.

Is a very reasonable price for what you get.

I'll never trust mine again, but unfortunately can't afford a new bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2008

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews