21st Jul 2007, 06:30

I don't understand why numerous reviews of the M50 state how they are unhappy with the positioning of the bars and the seat etc etc etc. Of course a motorcycle is going to come from the manufacturer in one single set up; then it's up to the individual to alter and slightly set up the bike for their riding.

Also as stated in a previous post, it's a cruiser with sufficient torque and power for what it is. If you think it is underpowered, then why buy it in the first place?

The M50 is a top bike, with superior ride ability and handling characteristics, compared to other cruisers within the range from other manufacturers.

The seat certainly is rigid at first, but shift around on it slightly as you ride, and like the engine, break in your seat before deciding to spend unnecessary money on a new after market piece.

I've read a lot of persons complaining about various aspects of the bike; IE the peg position and bars etc. Did you not take it for a decent test ride, or did you simply just say hey I like the cut of that bike, I want it?

In conclusion, a top machine at a right price, with up to date and future designing quirks, all wrapped up neatly in one fine package.

11th Aug 2007, 23:53

The seat, for me, is uncomfortable as heck. I'm 6'2", and 225lbs. After 30 minutes, my tailbone aches like nobody's business.

What makes this a good "starter bike" is that it's road manners are quite polite. It handles well, it has enough power to handle any situation, but is mild enough that you won't tend to get in trouble (like with an M109R or a Yamaha Warrior). And, it's almost maintenance free. Check your fluids, tires, and gas. That's it. It's a wonderful bike. Just get a new seat.

27th Aug 2007, 11:36

Hi to all the other M50 owners and prospective buyers. I've put over 14,000 miles on my 05 Suzuki M50, and all I can say is that this bike is an absolute dream! It has given me no problems since I first bought it. Only had two tune up done, at 4K and 9K miles. Most of the driving I have done has been on highway roads, so any complaints about not being able to keep up adequate speeds is just hogwash. Also, the lack of a 6th gear is a moot point, this isn't touring bike folks.

It's not hard to see why there are so many Harley and Honda cruisers on sale at eBay, but so few Suzuki Cruisers... I mean, who wants to give em up?

The one thing I love is the torque. I've ridden in other bikes (Harleys, Yamahas, Hondas)... and this bike is by far the smoothest of them all. The sealed shaft drive makes for troublefree riding in dusty poor conditions like here in Arizona.

Some customizations others might want to consider include adding a PowerCommander to get some more high end power & torque, might lose some gas mileage... but worth it. Some exterior lights and a voltplug for use with electroheated clothing for cold driving is a big plus. In all... this bike is a pleasure to drive, and will pay for itself a hundred times over.

28th Aug 2007, 17:18

I would just like to say that for not riding a bike since I was 8 years old, and then at 30 purchasing a 06 M50, I don't think I could have made a better decision! It is by far the best bike I have ever sat on ridden or looked at.

Since I bought it, I have installed a Power Commander and Cobra strait shots, so now my bike, looks, sounds, and rides RAD!!! Thanks Suzuki for making the perfect bike for the starter, re-starter and experienced rider!

And as for the bars not being comfortable, just move them, it's not very hard. And as for the seat being hard, it's a bike, not a couch stop! Take a rest if you need to!!!

Thanks for letting me post.

Justin in Bellingham Wa.

3rd Oct 2007, 22:40


I've had my 06 M50 for two years. It's a great bike.

I have been getting 50 MPG ever since break in.

The bike handles great; plenty of power, and looks good too.

If Suzuki made any improvements to it, I would like to see a rear disk, brushed aluminum rims, and more aftermarket stuff.

20th Oct 2007, 18:22

First day out on my new 07 M50 yesterday, bit nervous after not riding for many years, loving it so far.

I have already removed all the stickers and badges; I think it looks really tough in black without them, just wondering now when to debaffle. Should I wait till it's broken in or not?

Cheers from Adelaide Australia.

10th Dec 2007, 23:19

I love seeing all these great comments about the M50. I just bought my 07 blue/purple looking M50 a few days ago and I love it. I'm basically a new rider, (excluding the time when I was 10 I rode a dirtbike with only three gears for a day) and I taught myself how to ride this bike.

I see a lot of complaints about the seat comfort, but like everyone else said, "It's a bike, not a couch!".

I'm still breaking in the bike, but I wish I could find more aftermarket parts for it. I'd like it to sound a little louder, and I'm wondering if I could pick up the power in any way? If not, I still love the bike and am so glad I made the purchase, but I will probably upgrade in a couple of years.

If anyone is on this site just looking to see if the M50 is the right purchase or not, look no further. Just buy one and ee happy like the rest of us.

And if any of you have some good info for me, email me please. My name is Bill and my address is billkitchen88@yahoo.com

16th Jan 2008, 06:19

The M50 is a fantastic bike, Purchased a 07 (all black) in May and have been riding it daily with zero problems, as long as you break it in.

Shame to the guy who has had problems.

To all of those with the seat comfort issue, I removed the back seat and found that it helped a lot with the comfort, and of course a sixth gear. I can't decide whether to de-baffle or get new pipes for safety.

My bro. has a Midnight Warrior and we ride with sport bikes, and I have no problems staying with them; rides very smooth at 120+ and easy to handle with the fat tires.

Would recommend to anyone experienced or not. I get compliments every time I go out.

-Frederick, Maryland.

18th Jan 2008, 22:29

Love my 2006 M50.

24th Jan 2008, 08:20

I have just purchased a 2005 Suzuki M50 Black edition. A left over from a small dealer in a town next to mine.

I am a beginner rider, and on the second day I was on the streets running this bike like I have been riding for years. I LOVE THIS BIKE..

It has excellent speed and comfort. I am 5' 11" and do not have any issues with the handle bars or comfort of the seat.

I have added a brake modulator, windshield, carbon fiber overlays and a short backrest. I have gotten so many compliments on the look of the bike, and how it resembles a HD soft tail.

I agree that if you are looking for a GREAT bang for your buck and an excellent ride, just purchase an M50...