2005 Suzuki Boulevard M50 from United States of America - Comments

19th Feb 2008, 15:54

I've been riding for 4 years now with a Yamaha YZF600 (1997), and been loving the bike ever since... Due to price hike in insurance and plates here in Quebec, I'm opting for a cruiser which is much cheaper in those fees. I am not a huge fan of cruisers, but the M50 is the only one I can find myself riding. I've been hesitant to pick one up and let go my speed bike, but after reading all these positive notes, my decision is now made. I'm sold and can't wait to get my hands on one! All the small complaints I've read here re-assure me that they're just that - SMALL.

If you want more power - get a speed bike.

If you want more comfort - TRY a speed bike.

Therefore, this confirms that the M50 is the IDEAL bike. Price, easy riding, reliability, looks - what else can you ask for... right?

26th Feb 2008, 20:41

I just got an M 50 2008 - I love it. All that talk about the vibrations and the uneven center of gravity... don't make any sense to me. I've tried the bike on high speeds and sharp turns - no problems at all. I love it and LOVE the price too.

7th Apr 2008, 14:22

Quote <<<I have just purchased a 2005 Suzuki M50 Black edition. A left over from a small dealer in a town next to mine.

I am a beginner rider, and on the second day I was on the streets running this bike like I have been riding for years. I LOVE THIS BIKE..

It has excellent speed and comfort. I am 5' 11" and do not have any issues with the handle bars or comfort of the seat.

I have added a brake modulator, windshield, carbon fiber overlays and a short backrest. I have gotten so many compliments on the look of the bike, and how it resembles a HD soft tail.

I agree that if you are looking for a GREAT bang for your buck and an excellent ride, just purchase an M50... >>>

I would also like to add to my previous post. I have now owned this bike for several months and have put approx 1000 miles on it. The bike is PERFECT for the money. I have since put a PC III, V&H Straight Shots, Thunder MFG Tornado airkit and Thunder Monster baffles. Whew, the increase in torque and top end is amazing. My mileage has decreased a bit (a tiny bit), however the extra performance is worth it. The sound I get from the pipes is loud and throaty with the new baffles. Almost like a Harley.. If you are looking for some additional performance, spend a few bucks and you will continue to be very happy with The M50 =)

--Mike

North Carolina.

23rd Apr 2008, 19:43

This is my first bike, Almost. I bought a 1984 Kawasaki 550 LTD to learn on in Sept. 07, 2 weeks later I bought a new 2007 M50 and still love it. I'm 48yr and 5'9" 185lbs. I have 1400km on the bike now and have added saddle bags, Rotated the handle bars back a bit and added a backrest for the passenger, When I have one.

This was the style of bike I wanted and I bought it on sight without going for a ride. I really liked the way it looked. I find after about an hour of riding my tail bone is very sore and have to stop. I can't seem to reposition for comfort either. I want to go on some long rides with friends this year and have ordered an Airhawk pad. read some good reviews that put this ahead of Gels and such. Other than that I may go for a Corbin or Mustang seat at some later point. Also thinking about going to a local marine upholstery shop to see what they could do. When you get in your car you move things around to suit your driving position, and this is what I've done to my bike. You have to move the controls to suit you. So my only problem is the seat which really isn't a problem, my butt just isn't the same as everyone else. But I can fix the issue. Still a great bike, and I'm very happy and plan on keeping it.

Dave, from Newmarket Ontario Canada.

30th Apr 2008, 11:17

I have a 2006 M50, I am fairly small and have shorter fingers. How can I adjust the clutch so it is closer to my fingers? Thanks for your help.

1st May 2008, 22:00

I just bought a 2008 M50 black and the bike is sweet! I used to ride a GSXR 750 and thought it was time for a change of pace. I only have 170 miles on the bike so I can't really open her up yet, but so far I like what I see at half throttle!

The handling is phenomenal. I've already managed to scrape both pegs on the ground leaning in turns. It sucks that you can't go over too far, but the bike is very well balanced!!! Good looker too!

2nd May 2008, 20:41

I am 5'3" and have an '06 M50.. the reach of the handle bars are quite a stretch for me and hurts my back when I am riding. Is there anyone in my situation and how did they fix that problem. I've checked with Suzuki about risers, which they don't have, and also about getting pull back handle bars; can anyone recommend a place or bars that would work out for me. Thanks for your help.

3rd May 2008, 16:55

I love my 2005 M50. Because of high gas prices, I decided to park my V12 cage and become a full-time 24/7/365 rider. I researched many different bikes carefully before making my purchase. The M50's balance of performance, looks, low maintenance, in-city handling, fuel efficiency, and a variety of other factors won me over. While the M50 may not be the best bike in any one measurement category, it is well above average in all of them... something no other motorcycle I've seen priced below $15,000 can claim.

My bike has been customized with a windshield (handy at freeway speeds above 65mph), heated handgrips (it gets cold here in the winter), saddlebags, and the stock pipes have been opened up with removal of the baffles and attachment plates (an easy modification you can do with hand tools in about 15 minutes or so...there's a how-to video online). It sounds and rides great.

However, engine noise above 70mph can be a little frustrating. Suzuki elected to give the M50 a lower gear ratio, so it needs almost-sportbike engine speed to stay at a decent freeway speed (5,500 rpm at 90 mph will shake your fillings out after an hour). The engine can easily handle the rpm, but you may not depending on your riding style. The bike really, really, really wants a sixth gear for comfort cruising in my opinion.

The seat can also be uncomfortable on longer rides depending on your body size. There's a bump in it which kills the tailbones of taller riders. Removal of the pillion seat seems to cure this problem, plus aftermarket replacements are widely available.

Speaking of which, I'm 6'5" tall, with a 36" inseam. The bike fits me amazingly well in stock configuration (better than some larger bikes, actually), but I'm considering getting a set of forward controls to move the pegs out 3".

Overall, I rate the Suzuki Boulevard M50 very highly. It's a great all-around bike with no major weaknesses and many strengths. If you're looking for a mid-sized cruiser, the M50 should be on your short-short list.