2005 Suzuki Boulevard S50 from United States of America - Comments

11th Sep 2006, 12:02

I've had my 2005 S50 for a couple of months now, with over 1,200 miles on it now. I find that it still gets the 38 mpg that it got when I first bought it, and I'm (really) hoping this will improve in time. Can anyone offer any comments on this?

I do LOVE this bike. Great power and handling, and the perfect height for my 5'8" frame. My wife would like me to add a sissy bar/backrest so that she doesn't feel like she's sliding backward and forward when I accelerate or decelerate.

31st Oct 2006, 12:43

I am very excited about my new S50. Well, I haven't actually gotten it yet. I make the official purchase later this week. I've done a great deal of research on bikes and feel confident that I am making a strong and solid model choice.

I am a new rider, so the 803ccs will be more than enough for now. I also love its compact size. While sitting on it in the showroom, a friend came up and said, "That's you." She was right.

I plan to store the bike in my basement for the winter. I could have waited until spring to make the purchase, but the price was right and it was the only S50 available.

21st Nov 2006, 21:39

I purchased a 2005 S-50 in April of 2005, and in sixteen months I put 5,600 city miles on it. I have been riding since 1981, and buy bikes to use, not park and look at. This is my first Suzuki, with my normal brands being other twin V metric cruisers.

What I liked:

This bike has been utterly reliable, very fun to ride, and is good looking.

I appreciate the lower seat height, it allows my 5'6" frame to plant both feet flat on the pavement at stoplights.

The handle bars are very comfortable when riding due to the kickback risers, and being short flat sport bars, the turning radius is excellent and response is crisp.

The bike has good acceleration off the line, and gets up to speed quickly and smoothly up thru 65 mph with my 160Lbs.

What I did not like:

The brakes (especially the front disk) squeak. While performance is good, it is a tad embarrassing coming up to a light.

The stock seat was not as comfortable as I need for the amount of riding I do, and I changed it out for an after market one that had more width for me and the passenger.

The tool kit was secured in a "hooky looking" faux air box. I bought a tool roll which was installed on the back and took off the plastic chrome fake air box. (I think it cleaned up the bike nicely.) The faux air box also kept bumping my knee right at the kneecap, so I was more comfortable with it off.

The power is great for the city, but when I run it at freeway speed (here that is 75 mph) I am looking for another gear. I don't know the RPM due to the lack of a tach, but it just runs at higher RPM's than I like to be at for a 60 to 90 mile straight run.

What I changed "Just because":

I replaced the seat as mentioned earlier.

I put clear lenses and yellow lamps on the turn signals.

I found some really nice looking silverleaf decals and decorated the tank, front fender, and side covers.

I (Ahem... this is NOT recommended) slightly modified the exhaust to increase the signature noise. The decrease in back pressure seemed to improve the top speed, and now cars seem to hear me and realise I am in the vicinity, which makes me feel safer.

My rating of this bike is:

Reliability: 10 out of 10

Comfort: 9 out of 10

Performance: 9 out of 10

Mechanical: 8 out of 10

Appearance: 10 out of 10.

My recommendation for buying a S-50:

If you are a smaller person, and are a city dweller this is a great bike. 9 out of 10.

27th Nov 2006, 12:16

To the helpful reviewer who posted the 21st Nov 2006, 21:39 comment:

Thanks for your review. Two questions I wonder if you could reply to for everyone's additional edification:

1) Have you seen an improvement in the gas mileage with your S-50? I'm still getting under 40mpg, and am hoping it will improve after the 2nd scheduled service.

2) I would love to replace my seat as well. Can you tell us what you put on yours, and a possible source to find the same type for my S-50?

7th Dec 2006, 08:35

I've recently purchased the 2005 S50 after much searching.

This bike fits my 5'4" frame well with the exception of needed about 1 - 2" more pullback on the handlebars. Changing the bars involves changing cables, lines, and wiring and is not cost effective.

The seat on it is very comfortable and well-padded, but I would like one that will bring me closer to the handlebars. Has anyone found a comfortable seat that brings the rider further forward?

13th Mar 2007, 21:33

I purchased my 2007 S50 in October 2006. So far I have about 1000 miles on it. I live in the Pacific NW, so winter months = limited riding for me :(

It is my second bike - my first was a 1986 Honda Rebel 450, which I learned to ride on for a month before buying the S50.

I'm 5'6, 175lbs and the bike is a good fit for me. It's light and nimble and has plenty of power.

I too had brake squeal mainly on the front, but it seems to be happening less often recently.

The seat is a tad uncomfortable, so I may be looking for an aftermarket replacement, and I will also add a windshield. I've already added the Suzuki saddlebags and a sissy bar.

So far I have no complaints - I love this bike!

26th Mar 2007, 20:54

To add to my comment above - I just ordered a Mustang Wide Touring seat - I have a very sore behind from the stock seat - just did an 80 mile ride yesterday and 228 miles today.

I'm getting exactly 50 mpg, and that's mixed riding, and I cruise at 75-80mph on the freeway.

28th Mar 2007, 21:44

I too have just purchased an S50. I completely love the bike, but also have the front brake squeak problem and the seat could be a bit better, but other than that, it has good power and is a very agile bike. I would like to pipe it eventually and see happens. Does anyone have any suggestions on good pipes for the S50?

13th May 2007, 22:11

I've had my '05 S50 for 3 years now - get 55-56 mpg combination riding, although if I stomp on it, going over 70, the mileage drops quite a bit lower (more like 45 mpg).

Those of you out there with crappy mileage - maybe it's set too rich? Check your plugs - see if they're burning properly.

LOVE the bike - HATE the seat - any Mustang seat owners out there with reviews?

Bike is perfect for me at 5' tall - plenty of power - great for long distances and I can flat-foot it!

Going to change the turn signals - clear lenses - and might get LED inserts too.

I have saddlebags hoops - engine guard with Kuryakyn pegs to help stretch the legs onto for long distances.

Styling is great, but that's probably the culprit as to why the gas tank is so small...