2006 Suzuki GSX1400 from New Zealand

Summary:

Brilliant, amazing, superb, can't find something better, and I've tried heaps

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this motorbike. I actually like the bike so much that this is my second GSX1400!!

General Comments:

Out of the box, the suspension needs proper setting up, as on it's standard settings, it wallows like a whale in high speed sweepers. Once the standard suspenders have been tweaked properly, you do not need aftermarket suspension as the standard units are superb.

These bike will stay ahead of just about anything when pushed through the twisties, and if you're not a heavy sausage, will nudge 260kmh when everything is tucked in and you are wearing tight leathers (indicated if course).

A great all rounder and super comfy. Great for touring, two up work or going hard all day long. I've managed 1200kms in 13 hours on torturous roads, and could have done it all again.

There's not too many bikes around that will let you ride like a hooligan or just cruise in comfort all day long. When you drop a gear, you better be hanging on.

For a 228kg (dry) bike, they handle like a dream. Ground clearance is not an issue if you use upper body weight when cornering, and get your shoulder down.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2010

2002 Suzuki GSX1400 from Australia

Summary:

Love it! Lazy power, top handling, great tourer!

Faults:

Front fork seals - But that's cause I didn't clean it for 4 years...

General Comments:

Love it!

Lazy power.

Top handling.

Great tourer.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2009

2008 Suzuki GSX1400 from Australia

Summary:

Brilliant, go and buy one

Faults:

Showing its age.

General Comments:

Meets all the requirements for a naked sports tourer.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2009

2008 Suzuki GSX1400 from Australia

Summary:

It's pretty happy doing it all, just don't push too hard

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Suspension settings way too soft until tweaked.

Brakes are not the best.

Pegs to low and scrape easily.

Can easily ride 700 klm days.

Comfort is brilliant.

Finish is perfect.

Great off the line.

A great all rounder.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th December, 2008

2006 Suzuki GSX1400 from Australia

Summary:

Big and bad power machine

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

I brought this bike for the great options it offers. 22 litre tank, tones of storage under seat, comfort.

The GSX 1400 is an excellent bike to do just about anything you want.

The handling does rely on having a good set of tyres; personally I use Pilot Powers, they are a quick warm up and good gripping tyre for this bike. Don't worry about the mileage you get from these, it's all about staying upright.

As for the power and torque, you will love it.

This bike pulls right from down low in the revs to approx 7 grand.

The motor is bullet proof, and if you are worried about keeping up with your sports bike mates, trust me, if you can ride they will be well impressed with you, as you put a lot of them to shame.

As for the comfort, not only do you arrive with a smile on your face, but guess what, no back, neck or wrists are aching.

That's one one the best things about this bike, you don't get left behind too often.

Six pot calipers work very well, but there is always room for improvement. IE braided lines.

To sum up, this bike would have to be the best bike I have owned, the power and torque are just fantastic, and it's a great bike to make your own, with all the after market parts you can get for it.

Don't think about it, do it, you will not regret it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2008

2005 Suzuki GSX1400 from United Kingdom

Summary:

I will keep this for the rest of my life as it is that good

Faults:

Ignition immobiliser replaced by dealer free of charge on recall by Suzuki, but it had not actually gone wrong.

No other faults.

General Comments:

For road use this is an amazing motorcycle. If you want to be doing track days and pretending to be a racer on the road, hopefully you are not that stupid, it would be the wrong bike for you.

This needs a nose cowl or fairing of some sort to make the high cruising speeds relaxing, and to finish off the comfort that the rest of the bike is set up to give. My regular pillion passenger reports that the seat is very comfortable, and I personally have no problems in the saddle for 2 hours plus.

Brisk legal riding will give 50 miles to a gallon.

I am just about to change the back tyre for the third time, so just over 5000 miles and double that for a front seems to be what's happening.

My Suzuki dealer is simply faultless.

It is heavy and so must be treated with respect in the bends, but with the suspension set correctly, and stock settings are way too soft, it is balanced and handles very neutrally with no vices.

Some parts corrode easily in the winter salt, but no worse than any other Japanese machine does.

The drive chain and sprockets are regularly lubricated with chain wax, and are the originals, so have done 15000 miles and look as if they may well do the same again.

It has just had a major service including a valve shim check - no adjustment was required. Fantastic engine, lightly stressed equals low wear.

Finally. It is a real motorcycle, not a highly tuned plastic clad pretend racer. I am not against race reps, although the irresponsibility of some of their owners does concern me, however for road use this is so much better - and yes I have had sports bikes.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2008

2007 Suzuki GSX1400 from Norway

Summary:

Great bike, my nr. seventh Suzuki, Would buy the same bike again

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

All over very satisfied with the bike.

Did reach over 8000 km with the rear tire. My personal record.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2008

24th Oct 2009, 23:39

Yes I agree.

I actually think I will (buy this bike again!).

Regretted it ever since I sold it.

2007 Suzuki GSX1400 from United Kingdom

Summary:

A relaxed and lazy ride, but also a capable hooligan!

Faults:

Mechanically, it hasn't missed a beat so far.

The paintwork is not bad, but could be better. A typical Suzuki then...

General Comments:

The engine is an absolute gem. Mildly tuned with loads of cubes adds up to an astonishing amount of torque. That said, I'm not sure why it needs a 6 speed box!

The seat is extremely comfortable, and you could sit in it for days at a time, but being an unfaired bike, there is a fair amount wind force on the upper body to deal with at high speeds.

Handling? Well, I think it's pretty good (for its size/weight). You are always aware of the 220 odd kilos, but it is still capable of getting the pegs down and is very stable in fast sweepers.

For someone like me, who can only justify one bike, it is a great all rounder.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2008

2003 Suzuki GSX1400 from Greece

Summary:

Such a shame I sold it... Wish I hadn't

Faults:

Nothing...

General Comments:

I haven't regretted something more in my life than selling this bike... If only I could turn back time...

Big, heavy bike, but easier to ride than the Monster 620i I had before.

Good brakes (considering the size of the bike). They saved me once (along with the suspension). Two on the bike, and some 5-series decides to u-turn. Bike just stops! Amazed.

Spins the wheel anywhere and everywhere (especially in Greece!).

Added an Akrapovic system. Lots less weight, nice sound, a little more power (says 15 hp). Weight loss most noticeable.

Tried flatter handlebars. Nice look, standard are much more comfortable though.

Would buy again (thinking about it too!)

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2007