1999 Suzuki TL1000R from United States of America

Summary:

Awesome bike!!!

Faults:

My gas tank needed to be resealed from the bottom by the fuel pump. This is a simple gasket fix or equivalent.

Rear seat or cowl loose. This just needs to be adjusted by the latch.

General Comments:

The TL1000R is a great motorcycle. It has the speed, the torque, and the adrenaline rush motorcycle fanatics crave.

Even though the motorcycle is heavier in comparison to its competitors, it has the capability to keep up or outrun. As experienced motorcyclists know, its not the bike, but the rider. However, to be able to throw this bike around you must have the size. I am 6'4'' and 270lbs. Many of my friends can't handle it!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2005

5th Feb 2006, 17:14

Your size doesn't matter here, it is the experience (My 5th bike and 12 years on sport-bikes). I am only 5'10" 185 lbs. and I tear up the asphalt with this bike. Shift from first to 2nd in the middle of the power-band and just ride out all of 2nd in a wheelie. I can get my bike almost scraping on some turns and I only ride it on the street (That is with a passenger too). This beast rocks!

2001 Suzuki TL1000R from United States of America

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

There have been no problems so far with my bike, I love it.

General Comments:

This motocycle is very fast and handles like a top.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

2001 Suzuki TL1000R from United States of America

Summary:

Since production on these bikes have ended, they are sure to be rare finds soon

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the bike so far.

General Comments:

Compared to a 600 or 750 the acceleration is great, but it is much heavier and more difficult to handle.

The bike is more than capable of doing what the others will, it just takes a little time to get used to laying a bike that heavy down in the curves.

After riding my TL, I feel like I am on a toy on a 600.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2005

1998 Suzuki TL1000R from United Kingdom

Summary:

A real sports bike with a lot of character

Faults:

I have had no faults with the TL1000R in the 14 months I have owned her.

General Comments:

This motorcycle is truly awesome, I have had her for 14 months now and can honestly say that I have enjoyed all the 3,500 miles I have covered on her.

Being 6ft 6inches tall, I find that the size of the TL fits my lanky frame a treat, one sits in the bike rather than on it.

The grin I get every time I open the throttle says it all really, as that warp factor 10 cuts in at 6,000 RPM, the front wheel wants to launch itself into hyper-space.

It's not pure horsepower that pushes your bum into the single seat unit, it's that huge amount of V-Twin torque that's generated with the opening of the throttle.

The only negative point I can think of, is that I had to have a new clutch fitted at 19,000 miles!! It does seem to be the norm rather than the exception on this motorcycle. If you are thinking about buying a good used example with above 18,000 miles on the clock, be sure to check the roll on in top gear above 80mph to check if the clutch starts to slip.

As far as the handling department goes, I can keep up with the best of them along the lanes. I am a big guy and find that the rear rotary damper works well for me, with none of the frightening stories you read about in the press. Apparently, the oil in the rotary damper needs to get nice and warm before it works efficiently, and being 11 stone plus is mandatory for this to do so.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2005

1998 Suzuki TL1000R from Canada

Summary:

A terrific V-Twin sportbike, with lots of soul!

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong with this bike.

General Comments:

The low end torque is stupendous. The engine is a wonderful piece of engineering. Just don't look for liter bike beating horsepower though, it's simply not there.

The sound, especially with an aftermarket exhaust system, or bolt-ons, is absolutely music to the ears.

The stock steering damper is too heavy for my tastes, easily, but not cheaply fixed with an aftermarket adjustable unit.

The rear suspension is a bit of a mystery with its separate spring and rotary damper. The rotary damper is next to impossible to set up properly. Look for a conventional style aftermarket shock to remedy this too.

Overall it's a great bike, that needs a little more sorting out then most Japanese bikes, but nothing too extreme.

I wasn't sure how to rate to acceleration, braking and comfort on a scale of 1-10? Compared to what for example? It's comfortable as far as sportbikes go, but it's no Goldwing?

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2005

26th Nov 2005, 16:50

I agree with everything you say! I've got one and wouldn't swap it for anything else. Brilliant bike!

18th Dec 2009, 09:08

I have a tiller, and can say there are very few bikes that can be compared with this machine. Once you get on this thing, you feel like you are controlling a rocket. I have D&D pipes on mine, and while they are a little tiny too loud (I can't believe I admit this), the roar of the vtwin is simple captivating. It's 2009 and this bike, even though a 2001, still gets lots of attention, just like a brand new model.