1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim Reviews

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.9 / 10
Distance when acquired10300 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GSX-R600

Summary:

It's a perfect fit for me

Faults:

The oil light flickers.

General Comments:

This bike ages well. For being nearly 30 years old, it looks great.

Update 9/8/13:

It now has about 15k miles.

Replaced the start button after it fell off about a year ago.

Put new tires on the front and back before this season. This bike handles 10 times better with brand new shoes!

Exhaust pipes are finally done. The bottoms are gone and now are cracked all the way around. I ordered some MAC 4 into 2 turnouts, but they haven't arrived yet. I'm anxious to hear the new sound.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2011

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XJ650 Maxim

Summary:

Been a great bike

Faults:

Put on new front tires & brakes, back tire for its 20th birthday.

General Comments:

Been very reliable, still trust it on long trips, still looks brand new!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th October, 2010

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired16500 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki GPZ 1100

Summary:

Yamahas' rule. I love YICS!

Faults:

Replaced stock exhaust with Vance and Hines "Pro Sport" reverse baffle exhaust. Improved power and less weight for better mileage.

I have changed the oils, the brakes, tires, and recovered the seat.

Little problem; needs starter switch, but just slap it and it works :-)

Have cleaned the carbs and re-jetted because the air box was replaced by individual air filter (what a difference!)

New drivers peg covers, ride it so much, wore em' out.

I added a windshield; it's cold at night without it.

Overall. Very dependable.

General Comments:

This is my most favorite TOY. I have owned it for a long time and love it. This bike love high R's and responds so good! It is quick off the line, just roll on it and hold on! She is quiet and sounds good. I will never get rid of it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2010

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired110 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha RD 250

Summary:

I loved this bike at first sight, and still do, even though I have two other newer bikes

Faults:

I've had to replace the ignition module and one of the ignition pickups.

I recently had to replace the starter solenoid.

The bike has had a leaking front fork since the day I bought it.

The front brake is poor, but the leaking forks may have something to do with that.

The bike also has a bad shimmy problem above 85 mph.

General Comments:

It is a very sharp looking bike.

It is a very reliable bike. The engine and the drive shaft don't leak any oil, and it's pretty much maintenance free.

It has a light clutch pull without any slippage.

It has plenty of cruising power, even at lower rpm.

It gets 45 to 50 mpg in mixed driving conditions.

The bike has a great upright seating position, with a seat low enough for a five foot, six inch rider.

The bike feels light, and is very agile and easy to maneuver in tight spots.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2010

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired732374 miles
Most recent distance736418 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha Maxim 650

Summary:

Classic '80s cruiser, solid and smooth, with over 73,500 miles!

Faults:

Low idling, will stall when choke closed and no throttle.

General Comments:

My second '82 Maxim, great bikes to learn to work on.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2010

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles

Summary:

Great bike, best built ever

Faults:

Carbs at 25000.

General Comments:

This is a great bike, good power and handling. Does sit a little high, but still manageable for us shorter people.

I just put a new (used) carb set on the bike, and I now need to "marry" the jets and carb, but have no idea on how to do this. Any help, suggestions would be appreciated.

I love this bike, and really would like to get it running at it's peak.

People kind of snicker when they see a man riding a 650, I mean a real man's bike should be a 1200. That is until they take it for a spin and are amazed by its power and performance.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2008

25th Jul 2012, 15:23

Those who snicker don't even have a bike.

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles

Summary:

It is a great motorcycle, and I wouldn't part with it

Faults:

The problem is that the right front fork is leaking oil badly. It is apparent the oil seal has to be replaced.

I am currently trying to remove the bolt at the bottom of each lower fork tube, but am having difficulty removing them.

It feels like the entire lower fork tube assemble turns as I turn the bolt.

Is there a better way to loosen/remove the bolts from the lower fork tube. Please help.

General Comments:

I love this bike because it is peppy and brisk, and I always have a blast every time I'm on it on the road.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2008

14th Dec 2009, 21:15

When replacing my front fork seals, I had the same problem. A good friend took a wooden broom handle and ground the end so that there was still about a 3/8 inch flat on the end. He then put it in the fork to the bottom and hit it with a hammer just hard enough to hold the head of the bolt. Then I turned the screw out. It worked very well. Reverse for assembly.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 21 reviews