1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership1994
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

I would buy another one today if possible

Faults:

I encountered no mechanical problems with the bike in the entire time I owned it.

At 30,000 miles, I replaced the clutch because I was riding it cross country from Missouri to Idaho.

At 50,000 miles I had the seat recovered.

General Comments:

I added soft luggage and the Yamaha Maxim fairing at 20,000 miles.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2007

15th Nov 2011, 23:00

Did you ever have to adjust the valves at all, or have any major motor work?

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7800 miles
Most recent distance44400 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki 250cc street

Summary:

Bulletproof engine, not a road bike though

Faults:

Fuel valve leaked, installed kit.

Bolt broke in head for exhaust pipe.

Replaced carb boots.

Seat cover replaced.

20 years of ownership, not many faults!

Other routine wear of course.

General Comments:

Reliable, reliable, reliable.

Just spent 380 miles on it this weekend in 90 degree heat at 72 mph steady for 80 mile jogs. Didn't miss a beat! Only issue is the seat, kind of hard and I need to add a pad to sit on. Also will put your hands to sleep at 70, a little buzzy.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2007

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from Canada

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 kilometres
Most recent distance44000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable as heck

Faults:

Rebuilt carburators.

General Comments:

The bike treats me as well as I treat it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2007

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB550 Four

Summary:

This is a beautiful machine

Faults:

I have had the carbs cleaned. Oil changed every 2,500 miles, and just basic regular maintenance provided for the upkeep to give it optimum performance.

General Comments:

This motorcycle is smooth, quick, and an excellent bike for cruising. Reliability of it is amazing. Starts in extreme cold weather after sitting for two week intervals. Top of the line in looks.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2006

15th Dec 2006, 09:57

They are all of that and more.

My '82 Maxim 600 is a wonderful bike as well. I will keep it until I'm too old to ride!

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB500

Summary:

This bike is a power house

Faults:

The battery had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This motorcycle is fast and dependable.

It fires up after sitting in extreme cold for weeks at a time.

The design is beautiful.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2006

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance20700 miles

Summary:

For free, this thing rocks!! Great bike

Faults:

Petcock is needing a rebuild.

Carbs had a stuck float.

Right hand Yamaha gas tank label has come off.

General Comments:

I was given this bike and am having a lot of fun with it. It is my first real bike, and aside from needing the carbs worked on, it has been great.

I did notice the seat tends to make you lean forward, but not so much I hate it... yet.

Wind is an issue on the highway, but am too lazy and cheap to buy a windscreen; not to mention, I think it detracts from the coolness just a bit...

This thing has a lot of power, I think. I am 6.1" 185lbs, and it moves me around with no difficulty.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th July, 2006

6th Jul 2006, 20:29

"Wind is an issue on the highway"???!!!

You are aware that you are riding a motorcycle and not a closed car, aren't you?

"Wind" is no more an issue on a Maxim 650 than it is on any other motorcycle with a fairing or a windshield.

By the way, there are many windshields that look "cool" on the Maxim.

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda 250

Summary:

None of today's flair, but solid nostalgic performance that still turns the eye!!!

Faults:

Clutch cable snapped at 20,000 miles, but then, the bike is 23 years old.

The foot pegs have worn. I cannot reasonably complain, this is normal wear and tear, and this is a great bike!

Cold starting: If the bike sits for a couple weeks, it takes a bit longer to crank, but when I ride it a couple times a week, I can simply touch the start button and presto, a one second button push gets her rumbling. Takes a few minutes to smooth the engine out, then can cruise like a bee!

General Comments:

I bought this bike for $800, they go often for about $1500 on Ebay.

It has plenty of power for a mid size bike, and the direct drive transmission is awesome. It is fast, oh yeah, very fast, and has surprised many, many a friend at the power it offers even with two riders on it.

Gas mileage is about 60-65 mpg if you ride like a sane old granny and keep it at 55 mph. However, even at the near $3 gallon price of today, it will perk out at 45 mpg for the insane, throttle thrushing, middle-agers who like to hot dog the bike in the 80 to 80mph range (I personally know).

Maintenance, about minimal. It is very dependabe. I have only had to do the typical bare, minimal maintenance one would expect: oil change, spark plug change, new battery. Oh yeah, replaced the clutch cable and a worn tire (had the original tires on it).

I did also buy a small windshield, a definite plus, adds a sporty look, without all the bulk of a faring, and it adds three thousand percent enjoyment to riding.

If you are thinking about getting a used one, do it now. These bikes I believe in a few years will be vintage worthy of higher dollars. They are a nice collectible. Most people don't realize they are over a quarter century old.

Oh, if you plan long rides, invest in a larger seat, otherwise it is a great bike, nothing else to explain.

John, North East TN.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2006

29th May 2006, 19:53

Reliable, fun-to-ride, good=looking.

Yes, this sums up my '82 Maxim, as well.

Who makes a "larger seat" for the Maxim?

And what style are they?

11th May 2007, 07:02

Do you know the power to weight ratio for this bike? Also, where did you get the windshield?

13th Mar 2012, 17:51

I purchased mine, and it has a Corbin brand, King and Queen Throne style.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 21 reviews