1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008

General Comments:

Just bought this bike last month. Really great shape. Very nice bike.

Looking for sissy bar/luggage rack. Any idea where to look, or a year range that will fit same bike?

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd June, 2008

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from Canada

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance46500 miles

Faults:

Nothing so far, have just bought bike a month ago.

General Comments:

This is my first bike, rides very nice.

When shifting it seems to be clunky. Would this be normal, is this how the shaft drive works, is it something you get use to or could something be wrong???

Any comments, anyone.

Glen.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2008

13th Sep 2008, 09:14

I bought my bike 3 weeks ago and find the first few gears are clunky when shifting also. Hoping it's normal. I have a 82 Maxim with 65000 k on it.

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14136 miles
Most recent distance14996 miles

Summary:

Very nice bike. Look for the low mile 650 Maxim to take off in price this year

Faults:

Nothing great bike, but could someone please tell me why the flasher is for the turn signals?

General Comments:

Very fast and very smooth.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2008

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13800 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XJ650 Maxim

Summary:

If you're in your 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s, or 60s, this is the bike for you gotta love; an 82 650 Maxim

Faults:

So far not one thing. This bike rides great, runs great, and feels so comfortable. Maybe the most trouble free old school there is.

General Comments:

This bike is as fast as it can be. Around 10000 it starts coming on hard. I catch myself riding it like a motocross bike sometimes; racing all the gears up, and all them down, and then up again.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2008

28th Apr 2008, 20:59

I just got a XJ650 Yamaha Maxim, and it has no power, sounds real good idling, but when you go to take off it seem like it loses its power. It does not seem to get any gas. Push in the clutch and it revs right up. Can you help or have any ideas..

14th May 2008, 23:11

Sounds like a problem with the Carbs to me. Have the Carburators checked out and it should ride like a dream.

20th May 2008, 18:42

Not sure about the XJ650, but my wife had similar experience with her 750. Turned out to be the timing chain. No power below 3000 RPMs and sometimes stalled when starting out. But replaced the timing chain and all is well.

NOTE: Not much visible/measurable stretch in the chain, but it was slapping the inside of the valve cover.

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from Canada

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles

Summary:

One fine machine!

Faults:

Very little, other than I have to change the battery every so often, and front fork seals every 4 -5 years.

General Comments:

I've had mine for 24 years, and still love to ride it (most days to work when the weather permits).

The folks at Yamaha did great work in designing and building this fine machine. It runs great and has never had a part failure, except for the odd battery.

The seat is less than ideal, especially for long rides, but I wouldn't trade my 650 for anything.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2007

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership1994
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

I would buy another one today if possible

Faults:

I encountered no mechanical problems with the bike in the entire time I owned it.

At 30,000 miles, I replaced the clutch because I was riding it cross country from Missouri to Idaho.

At 50,000 miles I had the seat recovered.

General Comments:

I added soft luggage and the Yamaha Maxim fairing at 20,000 miles.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2007

15th Nov 2011, 23:00

Did you ever have to adjust the valves at all, or have any major motor work?

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7800 miles
Most recent distance44400 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki 250cc street

Summary:

Bulletproof engine, not a road bike though

Faults:

Fuel valve leaked, installed kit.

Bolt broke in head for exhaust pipe.

Replaced carb boots.

Seat cover replaced.

20 years of ownership, not many faults!

Other routine wear of course.

General Comments:

Reliable, reliable, reliable.

Just spent 380 miles on it this weekend in 90 degree heat at 72 mph steady for 80 mile jogs. Didn't miss a beat! Only issue is the seat, kind of hard and I need to add a pad to sit on. Also will put your hands to sleep at 70, a little buzzy.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2007

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from Canada

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 kilometres
Most recent distance44000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable as heck

Faults:

Rebuilt carburators.

General Comments:

The bike treats me as well as I treat it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2007

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB550 Four

Summary:

This is a beautiful machine

Faults:

I have had the carbs cleaned. Oil changed every 2,500 miles, and just basic regular maintenance provided for the upkeep to give it optimum performance.

General Comments:

This motorcycle is smooth, quick, and an excellent bike for cruising. Reliability of it is amazing. Starts in extreme cold weather after sitting for two week intervals. Top of the line in looks.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2006

15th Dec 2006, 09:57

They are all of that and more.

My '82 Maxim 600 is a wonderful bike as well. I will keep it until I'm too old to ride!

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 20 reviews