1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008

General Comments:

Just bought this bike last month. Really great shape. Very nice bike.

Looking for sissy bar/luggage rack. Any idea where to look, or a year range that will fit same bike?

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd June, 2008

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from Canada

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance46500 miles

Faults:

Nothing so far, have just bought bike a month ago.

General Comments:

This is my first bike, rides very nice.

When shifting it seems to be clunky. Would this be normal, is this how the shaft drive works, is it something you get use to or could something be wrong???

Any comments, anyone.

Glen.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2008

13th Sep 2008, 09:14

I bought my bike 3 weeks ago and find the first few gears are clunky when shifting also. Hoping it's normal. I have a 82 Maxim with 65000 k on it.

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14136 miles
Most recent distance14996 miles

Summary:

Very nice bike. Look for the low mile 650 Maxim to take off in price this year

Faults:

Nothing great bike, but could someone please tell me why the flasher is for the turn signals?

General Comments:

Very fast and very smooth.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2008

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United Kingdom

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1995
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles

Summary:

Phenomenal

Faults:

My Yamaha XJ 750 Maxim had a rusting exhaust collector box when I bought it that's all. It still ran beautifully for six months, then I decided to fit an aftermarket Jama full system with stainless fittings. I did nothing other than service the bike and keep it polished like a jewel.

I sold it to another dealer when I found that the abysmal British winter weather would ruin my bike, because I had no proper garage to keep it in, and I wanted it to be kept looking like show piece.

I am glad the bike made its way over to the UK from Texas. It had the style, handling and comfort of a midrange cruiser that was way better than the XJ 750 Seca model that we had in the UK at the time this bike was launched.

I loved that bike.

General Comments:

One of the best looking, handling and performing bikes of the type made in the eighties. All the Yamaha four cylinder cruiser style bikes were the best there were at the time. The 750 was probably THE best at the size, weight and performance it gave for little expense in running and maintaining it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2008

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13800 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XJ650 Maxim

Summary:

If you're in your 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s, or 60s, this is the bike for you gotta love; an 82 650 Maxim

Faults:

So far not one thing. This bike rides great, runs great, and feels so comfortable. Maybe the most trouble free old school there is.

General Comments:

This bike is as fast as it can be. Around 10000 it starts coming on hard. I catch myself riding it like a motocross bike sometimes; racing all the gears up, and all them down, and then up again.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2008

28th Apr 2008, 20:59

I just got a XJ650 Yamaha Maxim, and it has no power, sounds real good idling, but when you go to take off it seem like it loses its power. It does not seem to get any gas. Push in the clutch and it revs right up. Can you help or have any ideas..

14th May 2008, 23:11

Sounds like a problem with the Carbs to me. Have the Carburators checked out and it should ride like a dream.

20th May 2008, 18:42

Not sure about the XJ650, but my wife had similar experience with her 750. Turned out to be the timing chain. No power below 3000 RPMs and sometimes stalled when starting out. But replaced the timing chain and all is well.

NOTE: Not much visible/measurable stretch in the chain, but it was slapping the inside of the valve cover.

1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from Canada

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles

Summary:

One fine machine!

Faults:

Very little, other than I have to change the battery every so often, and front fork seals every 4 -5 years.

General Comments:

I've had mine for 24 years, and still love to ride it (most days to work when the weather permits).

The folks at Yamaha did great work in designing and building this fine machine. It runs great and has never had a part failure, except for the odd battery.

The seat is less than ideal, especially for long rides, but I wouldn't trade my 650 for anything.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2007

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 21 reviews