2006 Suzuki Boulevard M50 Reviews - Page 5 of 7

2006 Suzuki Boulevard M50 from United States of America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki LS 650 Savage

Summary:

The greatest cruiser deal on wheels!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I am a new rider. I went to a class with Honda 250's to get licensed. I had a '97 650 Savage first.

My new Blue 2006 M50 is great. I knew as soon as I saw it, this one was the only one for me. Not to mention the great price/value.

I only wish I was as good a rider as this bike is. She forgives me quite a lot, and is teaching me more every day. She is always ready, willing and able. I have 800 miles so far.

I am 5'7" and she fits perfectly. I don't find longer rides tiring except for the wind and I plan on getting a shield soon.

One tiny little thing: I don't like the stock mirrors. They don't match the bike. I think the C50 mirrors would go better.

I plan on keeping her forever <3.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2007

2006 Suzuki Boulevard M50 from United States of America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.9 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance7800 miles

Summary:

This is the thinking man's bike

Faults:

I've not had any problems.

General Comments:

I've had this bike for over a year now and it is December. I like it enough that I'm still riding it in the snow.

Right after I got it, I moved my front pegs forward 3.5" and mounted a set of saddle bags on it. The peg move wasn't a necessity, but made it more comfortable. I'm 6'4" tall.

Not long after that I gutted the exhaust with a 3 5/16" hole saw and changed the fueling. Now it can breathe.

I just put a new 200 mm tire on the back and I think it will run another 7500 miles without a breakdown.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2006

23rd Dec 2007, 21:21

I wrote this review a year ago, and I've now got 13,500 miles on my M50. It's been a lot wetter this year, so I haven't gotten to ride quite as much. Darn it. And if you are asking??? Yes I'm riding in the snow again with no breakdowns so far.

17th Apr 2008, 23:23

Hi, I am a first time rider and will be taking my MSF class next week. I do not want a crotch rocket. I am more fond of the cruiser bikes and and love the looks of the M50. However I am 6'4'' and 190lbs, will this bike fit me? I read that you moved the foot pegs forward! I didn't know you could do that on this bike.

2006 Suzuki Boulevard M50 from Mauritius

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance400 kilometres
Previous motorcycleYamaha XT350

Summary:

Fantastic if I could change the position of the handle bars closer to me

Faults:

I sit on the bike, drive off and after having done half an hour, I get tired of leaning forward to grab hold of the handle bars. It seems that these are too far from me, not allowing me to sit relaxed and still get hold of my steering bars.

General Comments:

The comfort aspect after a few kms. The handle bars too far from me.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2006

19th Sep 2006, 18:01

If you at the handle bars below the odometer, I think there are 4 plug caps. You pop them off and there should be 4 allen screws. You loosen them up a little, and the bars move up or down. Adjust to your preference and tighten the screw back down real good so they don't move on you. Then put back the chrome caps and you're back in business. Tap the caps back with a piece of small wood and a hammer (not too hard), and they will go back in place.

6th Apr 2007, 16:12

Just curious how tall you are. I am seriously considering an m50. I am 6ft. with lengthy arms. Do you think I would have the same discomfort you experienced?

12th May 2007, 19:51

I'm 5'5" and I didn't notice any problems with the handlebars, although I will play with the clutch a little I'm sure. If you're around 6' or so, you probably shouldn't have too much of a problem.

24th Oct 2007, 21:08

I am 6'1", and I too find the bars a little too far forward,and it bothers my shoulders, but it's not bad enough that it would stop me buying the bike. Handle bars can always be changed, and I am going to look into the possibility of installing risers.

30th Nov 2007, 14:03

You will get used to them after a bit.

If you still don't like them, I suggest changing them out with the Suzuki C50 handle bars, as they are set farther back and you only have to reroute the cables to behind the bars instead of the front.

14th Jul 2008, 11:16

I replaced my stock bars with C50 bars. I could not be happier. I am 5'8" and rode for a year before I got up the nerve to make the change. 365 days with a sore back. Now the bike fits me. Life is good.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 21 reviews