1986 Suzuki VS700 Intruder from United States of America - Comments

31st May 2009, 01:52

I have owned my 87 Intruder 700 for 11 years. My dad bought it in 1990 with 2500 miles for 1800 cash. Maintain these bikes well and they will take care of you on those cross country rides. Besides fouling a sparkplug or 2, I have never had a problem. Once ran from Indiana to Florida 80mph nonstop except for gas every 100 miles, this bike is unstoppable! These was very well designed Japanese machines, and if you keep'em clean they will last a lifetime.

skipshooter821@yahoo.com

3rd Jun 2009, 16:45

I just purchased a VS700 GLE (G?) 1986. Someone had removed the baffles from the exhaust tubes and it doesn't run very well. The bike needs some TLC but overall is in pretty good shape. I would like to know how to get used mufflers (OEM) so I can try to see where I am on the carburetor as far as the jets go. Also, are there any noise suppressing inserts for the mufflers casings that don't require re jetting?

Thanks Jim Norton norton@optonline.net

6th Jun 2009, 01:36

I have a 86 Intruder 700. I bought it for 1000. It was nice and clean, but now I do not have a garage so it is in the rain and it has rust, but I don't care, it is now a rat bike with drag pipes, highway bars, no signals, brake light, mirrors, but I still get compliments and blow eardrums. I love my bike. FRANK CA™ Baltimore M.D.

5th Jul 2009, 00:05

Well I just got my First bike. 86 INTRUDER 700. I agree with many; very easy to ride. Have just started noticing clunky shifting, I'll try a fluid change.

15th Jul 2009, 04:51

I just wanted my place on the band wagon! I got my 86 Intruder 700 three weeks ago. I went to Huntsville, Alabama to purchase for 600 bucks and drive it back to Atlanta. (about 5 1/2 hours)

It ran flawlessly except for one instance of running hot due to rust in radiator that is a result of 2 years in a garage. It was also 95 degrees outside in the bikes defense!

Everything works on the bike. At least after replacing a brake, and tail light bulb. Also, a vigorous cleaning! Got a good deal for a great bike. Happy me!

Having trouble finding parts and service though. Open to insight in that department.

We are all wise in our decision to purchase this bike!! Hooray us!! Ride safe everyone.

ben-zilla@hotmail.com

20th Jul 2009, 22:07

Bought a 1986 699cc Intruder for $1600, 4 weeks ago. Was riding 450cc Honda Rebel. Been getting familiar with the Intruder. Handles the road nicely.

Have not figured out how to get to the battery. Don't see a tool compartment or how to lift the seat up.

Washing it today, I noticed the oil window. My other bike had a dip stick. Also noticed the kick stand needs to be down to start the bike. Also, I need to pull the clutch some when starting.

Passed inspection today. Chrome attracts a lot of eye balls. Put on 100 miles before filling it with 2 1/2 gallons of fuel. Changed the oil and filter with no difficulty. Noticed the spark plugs recessed. Drive shaft will need a fluid change as well as the radiator.

Looking forward to some good riding.

23rd Jul 2009, 14:34

I've had my '86 Intruder for since about '94. I got it for about 2500 I think. It has been a pretty good bike, but I'm thinking of moving to a Suzuki Katana 600.

One thing I've never liked about the bike is the short back rest for the passenger and the lack of windshield.

It has been sitting in my garage for about a year, so I got it all fixed up and ready to ride this week. I plan to start being a daily rider to save money on gas. If I do end up keeping this bike, I must get a windshield. Any suggestions for where and what to buy?

And if I decide to sell it, any idea on the price?

Best,

Don.

17th Aug 2009, 23:00

To the guy two spaces up, The seat does not raise up. You have to un-bolt the side panels, then the seat. Only takes a moment.

Now, I get to go and figure out where the front air filter is, then change it.

Grrrreeeaaat bike!

28th Aug 2009, 21:10

Hi,

I'm about to go check out '87 Intruder 700.

My only concern is that it has 43000 miles. To my understanding, most of these miles are highway (east-west coast), but I would like someone's opinion on this. How much more life does this bike have? Seller says that he never had any issues with the bike.

Thanks guys.

mcf7wt@gmail.com

29th Aug 2009, 01:18

I just bought a 1987 Intruder 700, and I love it. Good handling, decent performance, and great looks.

The only complaint I have is the brakes are horrible, I have ridden sport bikes for several years, but went to a cruiser as I am getting older, and the lack of braking power is hard to get used to. I am going to start with performance upgrades soon, and if anyone knows where to get a deal on parts or what to about the brakes, please let me know at wyldechylde1369@yahoo.com

3rd Sep 2009, 21:46

This is my first motorcycle. I just bought it 4 days ago for 2000 and I love it. It has 10840 miles on it, I'm not sure if it is the original mileage. I need to fix the clutch but that should be cheap and easy.

Being that it is my first bike, I don't really have anything to compare it to, however I do enjoy every minute of it.

The only complaint I have is that I am 6' 4" and my back hurts when I've ridden for more than an hour on it. The brakes are also kind of crappy, but being as it is my first bike I am getting used to it.

24th Sep 2009, 21:22

Got a VS700 just a few weeks ago - love it! Would like to find some highway pegs though. Any ideas?

25th Sep 2009, 17:47

I have owned a 86 Intruder for 2 months. This is my first shaft drive. I changed the oil, filter & plugs. It needs a battery. It runs and shifts well. But it makes a strange noise when under power. Coast or press in the clutch and it stops. I need advice.

dlagrow@wi.rr.com

28th Sep 2009, 10:23

I bought my 700 Intruder in Jo-burg about a year ago. It is my first bike, and at 60 has been one of the best things I have done in a long time. It rips along, sounds great and is really forgiving. It also looks a treat and has given me only one hassle.

I see others agree about the battery, which is a pain to remove. I had problems with it shorting on the body and have fitted longer leads with insulation all the way up and round the battery terminals. Now no missing, and it starts first time every time.

Suzuki produced a classic here.

3rd Oct 2009, 15:13

I bought my 86 VS700 3 years ago for 100 bucks. It was a total disaster after having been sitting outside (uncovered) in the weather for over a decade, Every moving part was rusted shut - the carburetors were so corroded that I had to chisel out the piston slides in multiple pieces, but being a mechanic by trade had its advantages on a project of this magnitude. I took every single piece of this bike apart, and over the course of 2 years managed to restore it back to nearly new condition.

These bikes are already very attractive, but I added several components to make it a knock out in the looks department, including a chrome radiator cover, chrome front fender (a fender off of an old Honda CB650/750 fits perfectly and looks fantastic!) a chrome drive shaft cover etc. It looks and rides great, and I've got less than 500 bucks in the whole bike. It gets compliments every time I take it out.