2004 Yamaha V-Star 1100 from United States of America - Comments

23rd Apr 2006, 05:36

I would like to up date somethings on my original post.

There were some minor bugs in the bike that have been taken care of. Since my original post, I have taken some trips and the bike is really smooth.

18th Apr 2007, 21:53

I have owned this bike for two and a half years and have put about 7000 miles on it.

The stock seat is made of special polymers scientifically designed to transmit every vibration from the road and engine directly into your butt. The Mustang seat makes an enormous difference.

I'm 5' 11" and needed to put on forward controls. A Canadian company makes an adapter that moves the stock controls 4" for about $100. Money very well spent.

I have had no mechanical problems. I get over 45 MPG when driving 60 MPH, and under 40 MPG when driving 80 MPH.

My biggest complaint, and you will see this posted everywhere, is one needs to take off the front exhaust pipe for an oil change, which fortunately is only every 4,000 miles. But, that's a $400 service because they adjust the valves also.

It's my first bike, and I'd recommend it for first time riders. It's not so big that it can't be handled, but not so small that one will outgrow it or be afraid to take it on the freeway.

It could definitely use a 6th gear, but the engine was designed to rev high - so they say.

30th Apr 2007, 06:26

I have owned a 1100 V-star for approx 3 and a half years now, riding across the country for work on almost a weekly basis. 35000 kilometres later, have not had one problem with the exception of the battery failing 3 years after purchase.

It has served me well, and I am still proud to be sitting up on it with the wind in my face.

However, one small problem today, was that the oil light came on. I have no idea, but after approximately 15 minutes of riding, went out. This has never come on before. A small worry, but will keep an eye on it. It has only come back from a service about 4 weeks ago and has had minimal riding. Yes the oil level is fine. That's what worries me.

17th Nov 2007, 14:21

I've had my 1100 V-star for 3 years now, and haven't had a single mechanical problem with it.

The only bad thing I have to say about this bike is the stock seat isn't to comfy after riding for a while. Bought a new aftermarket seat, and now I'm fine with the bike.

Also bought new Cobra exhaust, which gave me the big bike rumble that the stock exhaust didn't give. Overall... a good bike.

22nd Nov 2007, 18:17

I am a proud owner of a 00' V-Star 1100 Classic that has many aftermarket upgrades and a trick paintjob.

No complaints with the bike whatsoever. Now with 16000 miles the bike is just as powerful as it was out of the box.

I have also had issues with the oil light coming on. I contacted Yamaha on this issue and it is a common problem with this bike. The oil passage for the level sensor is too small. So if conditions are right, the light will be triggered even when the oil level is perfect.

16th Dec 2007, 07:44

01 1100 Custom.

After 20 years of not riding, out of the blue I bought an 05 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 and rode that for 3 months. It was a great bike to get started on again, but I knew I needed something a little bigger and a little fuller. I searched and scoured and finally settled on the 1100 Custom.

That was just before winter set in, so I've only been able to ride it for a couple of hundred miles.

It did die on me at work, and I had it transported to a shop.

They said the fuel pump was the culprit, but all they did was tap on it and it's purring again. I hate that that happened, but we will see how that goes in the spring.

My only complaint is I need more leg room, so I'm purchasing some Kuryakyn Swingwing pegs for leg extension.

All I know is that when I'm on it I feel good. It feels like the right bike for me.

I can't imagine not riding again, and spring can't get here soon enough!!!

27th Dec 2007, 03:52

I purchased a 2007 1100 V Star Silverado around six months ago. Had not rode in almost 20 years. I must admit the motorcycle took some getting used to. The leg room is definitely for a smaller person. I've put 7,000 miles on the motorcycle during this time. GREAT MACHINE!!! I originally intended to keep this bike for a short period of time, then purchase a large touring machine. Not now. I'm staying with the Yamaha cruisers from here on out. Love the engine, love the durability, love the styling, love the handling.

9th Feb 2008, 10:30

In Nov 07 I sold my Honda Shadow VLX 600 and bought a new 2007 V-Star 1100 (great sale at dealer). This is my first experience with a shaft drive - and I am very happy.

The bike drives great - braking is superb - much less vibration and noise.

The only issue I have (so far), is that with the dual stacked pipes, I couldn't get a very large saddle bag.

8th Mar 2008, 10:04

I have a "04" 1100 V-star Classic; love the bike. I just discovered an oil leak, don't know if it is a head gasket or valve gasket. Was losing a little power so I don't know if I am losing compression or what. It has been stored in garage all winter so I just thought it was running rough from being stored all winter.

3rd Apr 2008, 09:07

I own a 2007 1100 Silverado Classic, and just love the bike. I traded my 1400 Intruder in for this bike and don't regret it. My only complaint like most others is the stock seat. I just ordered a new ultimate seat yesterday and can't wait to try it out if the snow ever leaves!!!

26th May 2008, 15:55

I have a 2002 1100 Star. I recently removed the air induction system and have noticed an intermittent chirping sound in the exhaust. I am running hard krome big straights. I have read several threads with others experiencing the same thing; all the dealers I called have not heard of this. I used barons ais plugs. I'm still looking for a cure.

28th Jul 2008, 00:23

I bought my Yamaha 1100 V-star classic new in May of 2008 and it's awesome. I haven't had a bike in over 20 years. Since I've been riding it with only 450 miles, I do wish it had another gear, and I need a windshield for sure. Also a set of pipe's wouldn't hurt either. Other than that, it's a blast.

8th Aug 2008, 20:56

Just got my (new to me) bike. A 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic. I am totally in awe. I have not driven since 1972 and it is really great to be back. This bike has everything, after market pipes, chrome everywhere. I have read all of the other comments and really look forward to having as much success with my bike as everybody else has.