2004 Yamaha V-Star 1100 from United States of America - Comments

9th Jul 2009, 08:23

9th July 2009, 10:10am.

I have a 2004 Yamaha 1100 V Star Classic and love it.

In 2006 when I picked up the bike, I installed a set of Cobra longs, love the pipes.

Hyper charger kit was installed and that’s when the ticking started.

At first I thought it was an exhaust leak, but later determined that it might be the valves. Valves were done two days ago, seems to have knocked the ticking down to a faint tick, (I can live with that), but now I have a strong fuel smell.

I have two things I look forward to in life; one is retirement and spending time with my grand kids, second is ridding my V Star.

I plan on keeping this bike for a long time.

Thanks, any suggestions?

6th Aug 2009, 14:12

To all with OIL in your air box on the 1100, your crank case had a little too much OIL in it, that's all.

8th Sep 2009, 23:11

I have a 2005 V-Star 1100 that I just traded for a 2001 R1... I am really not the crotch rocket type of guy, but I got out of it before it got me... So my question is.. I am looking for forward controls and don't want to spend $600 plus on them. Has anyone found them for less? fleshman77@hotmail.com

11th Nov 2009, 11:21

V-Star length of life? I just did a compression check on my '04, 1100 and it's right up to new engine specs = 142 ft. lbs. on both cylinders. I use AmsOil, change every 5K. This engine has 43K on it now and will easily last over 100K.

Have to replace fuel pump. First repair since new.

Desert Dave.

7th Dec 2009, 15:13

I don't see a posting for '01 V Stars, so I'll just do it here.

I got my '01 classic at about 54k miles and I LOVE IT!

The good: Great retro-styled looks, low comfortable seat, wide floorboards, cushy ride.

The bad: ridiculous oil filter location, had to replace the starter clutch drive at 57k miles... OUCH... ($750 in parts alone) The carb intake boots are deteriorating. High revs at cruising speed... Needs to have overdrive.

For the mileage this bike has, and considering it was stored outdoors most of its life and ridden daily mostly in Austin city traffic, she's doing pretty good.

Overall, a great bike. However, if you're in the market for a V Star and the starter drive hasn't been replaced, it will. I learned this 1500 miles after I got it.

TIPS TO KEEP YOUR STARTER HAPPY:

Don't rev the throttle at start up, and keep starter engaged 2 full seconds after it fires. The TPS changes the ignition advance curve and causes starter clutch damage due to kickback. Air leaks in the intake have also been reported to be a cause of this problem.

Be safe and keep the shiny side up.

Steve-o.

15th Dec 2009, 00:00

I own a 2004 V-star Custom with 27,000 miles on it. Overall, it's a great bike. The negative point is that it has a vibration problem. When I rev the engine over 4000 rpm.. I feel the vibration's in the handle, seat et pegs. Dealer checked everything and can't find nothing..

The bike didn't have this vibration problem before..

Has anyone experienced this problem?

Yves.

Montréal, Canada.

20th Jan 2010, 21:21

I have a 2000 V-star 1100 and absolutely love it! I've had many of the problems described above. The most nerve racking was the popping when decelerating. But now I have a problem with the clutch slipping. I seen advertisements for a harder spring disk. Has anyone else had this issue??? It has a little over 50,000 miles on it, but I'm not too hard on takeoffs, and have never tore the clutch out of any vehicle I've owned. Just curious if this is a problem, or if it's just time to replace it?

To anyone looking for reviews, if something happened to this bike, yes I'd have to buy another V-Star!!!

Antman

Atlanta, GA.

22nd Jan 2010, 08:23

I have a 2004 V Star Classic and love it. I ride it everyday until the wind chill gets below 28...

The bike has ticked ever since I owned it, and the valves have been adjusted several times, I hear it more with a wind shield, but it never lets me down, always cranks, runs smooth.

Love my Jardine pipes and K&N air filter (Got them at CruiserCustomizing), the boys at CC will take care of you...

I have replaced tires and oil, but I think some people tinker with their bikes too much, just get on it and ride the mess out of it, and it will be fine. Believe me, I ride mine constantly and hate to get off.

Quit freaking out about a little sound here or a little vibration there, cause it's a motorcycle not a Lexus, so don't expect a Lexus, just expect a great bike like a V Star and enjoy the ride on 2 wheels.

Jake USAF.

2nd Feb 2010, 12:02

Antman, Lol..

How did you solved the vibration's problem on your bike?

Sorry, can't help you with the clutch.. I haven't experienced this problem..

Yves.

Montréal, Canada.

8th Apr 2010, 12:25

The sound you hear when you first turn on the key of the 2004 1100 is just the fuel injector filling.

15th Apr 2010, 08:29

I bought a Clymer maintenance, troubleshooting, and repair book, and it has a complete break down of all V Star 1100 models from 1999 to 2009. As I was reading, I came across a section that brought me back to the vibration problem you all were talking about, and it can be caused by needing new wheel bearings or new bearings.

The next thing in Ch.3 page 77, the steering head may need to be checked if handlebar vibrates more than normal.

Jake USAF.

27th Apr 2010, 21:05

To all the people complaining about vibration.. try riding a frame mount 883 Sportster for a while. You will never complain about a V-Star's vibration again. Runs like silk in every gear!!!

20th May 2010, 20:32

This is the first chat room I have seen that has access to good info, keep it up.

20th May 2010, 20:51

I have a wicked driveline vibration on my 2007 Yamaha 1100 V-Star. I have just installed a new tire, only 10000 miles on the bike, it's the first tire change. It was balanced properly, and the recommended replacement tire for this bike. Before the tire change there was no vibration.

Vibration is aggressive and gets worse with speed; at 50 mph it is very noticeable, at 80 mph it will turn you into jello. It is not cyclic like a balance problem, but very consistent and progressive with increase in speed. I reassembled as per the Clymer manual, it went back together easily... is there something in the drive shaft I screwed up on re-installation? Can you put the drive shaft back into the trans out of phase some how? The universal joint stayed on the trans output shaft, is there a master spline I might have missed?

25th May 2010, 16:41

I have a 2005 V-Star 1100 Classic. The vibration is only annoying at high speeds (90mph+) because it makes it difficult to read the road signs. I have 12,000 miles on it, most from a 70 mile daily commute.

New rear tire at 11,000 miles, it was bald.

New front tire at 12,000 for safety.

OEM rear tire and Metzler on the front.

I use Amsoil synthetic oil in my truck and it provides excellent results. So I switched to Amsoil for the bike as well. Now I have the red oil lamp light coming on for 20 - 30 seconds, about 5 miles from where I start out. I freaked about it a couple of times, but there is no loss in power, no abnormal motor noise, and it doesn't seem to be seizing up. I ease up on the throttle and it goes out after a few seconds. It appears to be an anomaly related to using synthetic oil. The filter change out wasn't as bad as everything I had read online. It's not worth buying a relocation kit for me.

I've been riding for 47 years, and ridden my share of makes and models. I love the VStar. However, it is the most difficult rear tire change I've ever encountered! The purchase of a stand is recommended, or pay the dealer the $30 to do it.

Cheers!

Brian.