1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim from United States of America - Comments

5th Jun 2011, 09:28

To 4 Jun: First make sure the battery is being charged on the bike. Charging rate should be about 14v+-. Ensure the battery has the proper fluid level and % of acid. Also consider you MAY have a defective battery or one that was damaged during initial charging. Don't assume ANYTHING with electricity... If the above items are OK, then look for a short/ground pulling juice from/to?... Oh! Starter just starts the bike and gets its juice from the battery via a solenoid, which engages when the start button on handlebars is pressed.. Generator or alternator charges... Wish you luck :)

8th Jun 2011, 00:08

Those "holes " in your muffler may be factory drilled holes. My Maxim has one on each side on the bottom of the exhaust pipes. These allow water vapour that condenses in the exhaust system to drain out. Ever been in traffic on a cold day, and noticed water dribbling out of the exhaust pipe of the car ahead of you?

17th Jun 2011, 15:54

I have seen several posts on this site asking where one can purchase the black/blue paint for a 1982 650 Maxim. I also wanted to paint the tank on my 1981 650 Maxim the black/blue color, even though it was black with the red fleck from the factory. I found a place where it can be purchased in spray cans or pint size cans. I received an email from them with several pages of painting recommendations and a price list for their products. The information they sent me was invaluable for a novice painter. Their phone number is 1-404-235-4097.

I found a Co. on the internet where I purchased a 4 oz. container of what they called Canadian Blue metal flake for $12.99 and a cost of about $3.50 shipping www.paintwithpearl.com. I then went to my local auto body supply company and purchased all the supplies I would need to do a base coat clear coat process. When I left the supply company, I was $190.00 poorer.

Fortunately I own a good spray gun and air compressor, and have some experience painting cars, as it was a hobby of mine years ago; however I never used metal flake. I had no idea as to how much metal flake I should use, as the four oz. container was said to be for a gallon of paint. I wanted the density of the metal flake to be as close to factory as possible, even though the color match of the metal flake was still in question. I decided to go high-tech and use the proverbial l pinch method. Two small pinches were placed in the four ounces of clear and two ounces of hardener and spayed over the base coat twice. I then shot two more coats of straight clear to level out the metal flake. The next day I sanded the clear with 2000 wet/dry sand paper and buffed out the tank. I was very pleased with the finished product, as it puts the factory paint job to shame. The paint job did end up having about three times as many metal flakes as the factory paint, but when the sun light shines on it, WOW.

I also own a 1982 650 Maxim, which has the black/blue factory painted gas tank, which is in mint condition. The color of the metal flake from the factory and the color of the metal flake I purchased is a perfect match, in my opinion.

1st Jul 2011, 16:53

I had the same problem. I found a way to snap the heads to pull the cap off. Just be careful you don't crack the housing. Mine appeared to be regular 1/16th screws. If you can snap the heads off and take the cap off, you should be able to use vise grips to turn the screw shafts to unscrew them.

10th Jul 2011, 15:06

I have a 1982 XJ650 Maxim and I need to maintain idle at 1050 rpm. The Haynes book refers to a large central knob, but has no picture indicating where to look. Can you help me? canopy1@optonline.net

11th Jul 2011, 11:36

For idle screw info, see post from 25 May 09... I set mine by ear, and it winds up at about 1100+-.

14th Jul 2011, 11:13

"it is hard to start cold and does not like to idle unless the choke is on".

Mine has the same problem. Did you ever figure out what it was?

15th Aug 2011, 11:20

Try tightening the head bolts. Had the same problem. Cured mine. Be gentle and use a torque wrench. You have eight of them to check.

20th Aug 2011, 15:20

The petcock could be going bad. If there are issues with fuel getting to the engine, that would cause problems when you throttle it up.

29th Dec 2011, 15:24

I own an '82 Maxim too, and this is my 2nd one. The Maxims are almost bullet-proof, and every problem I've ever had with mine relates to fuel delivery. Try replacing the fabric filter above the fuel petcock (the filter that rises up into the fuel tank). I'd try that before pulling apart and cleaning/rebuilding the carbs. If you cannot locate a source for a new one, these filters (and other parts for these old bikes) are usually available used on eBay.

18th Apr 2012, 15:20

Could you tell me how and what sprockets did you use; also the rear balancer for the rim, did you use the same rim?

10th May 2012, 22:52

My negative wire wasn't connected on my 82 650XJ when I bought it. Is there a place where it goes on the frame?

27th May 2012, 10:38

I have the same problem. Did you ever find out what it is? If so, I need to know. Mine is a 650 Bobber, no fire to plugs, what causes this? It ran fine; I took wires apart and put everything back together. I would like to ride sometime this summer. Please help.

4th Jun 2012, 20:08

Original reviewer here - I still own this beautiful bike. Unfortunately due to health issues, I've been unable to ride it the past few summers, so it sits in my garage looking like new with only 4,700 original miles on it. I love looking at it though, and hope I'll be able to ride again someday. I'm sure with a new battery & fresh gas in the tank, it will fire right up and run like a fine watch.

These are fantastic bikes - They just don't make them like these anymore.

16th Aug 2012, 11:46

Original reviewer here - Although I still have been unable to ride this bike due to health issues, I'm still holding onto it and waiting for the day I'm able to ride it again.

It still looks like it just rolled out of the showroom, and only has 4,700 miles on it; that would be an average of less than 157 miles per year :). Just a great design & a beautiful bike.

I really wish they still made them like this.

25th Aug 2012, 13:55

5000 is where mine sits at 65, as well. However, running at 75, I'm only up to about 6100, so it still has some space left. Even tapped out at 85, I'm still not redlining. Just seems to be the norm for this bike.

25th Aug 2012, 14:33

Hi, I know it's a really old post... but I am interested in converting my XJ 650 shaft with a chain. Could I have more detail please :)

4th Aug 2013, 17:26

Original poster here - I wouldn't change a thing on my stock 650 Maxim. It is a timeless design and an overall wonderful bike.

24th Jan 2014, 06:32

To find the central idle knob, just reach well in from the right hand side of the bike, that's under and behind the carby rack (so below and behind the line of the carby floats). You will find the knob behind and under the carbs about the middle of the bike. Turn clockwise to speed up the idle, counter clockwise to slow it down. Easy.

28th Apr 2014, 11:56

Hey guys, just got an XJ650 Maxim. Wanted to change out the final drive and secondary drive fluid, but I don't know how to get to the secondary drive. Do I take off the whole plate behind the shifter? Any help is appreciated.

23rd May 2014, 12:43

That should go to the fuel petcock next to the fuel line; the XJ's use a vacuum operated fuel "pump" located inside of the petcock. When synchronizing the carbs, you use these same ports to tap into the individual carbs to set them all the same with a manometer (you can make one, YouTube has dozens of lessons on those).

14th Jun 2014, 18:13

I'm thinking you should have started with flushing out the tank and cleaning the petcock.

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available.